Slow Cooker Cheesy Chicken

When you work all day or even just don’t feel like spending a whole ton of time in the kitchen for dinner, slow cookers are the way to go. I love how easy they are and that you can put everything in the crock pot and not really worry about it until it’s time to eat! This recipe was adapted from a recipe I saw my husband’s mother make years ago when we first started dating. I have changed things up and started doing it my own way. She makes it with pork chops and a different ingredients though. I’ve changed it up to include chicken different peppers. It’s a cheesy, yummy, comfort food!
20160303_114744Not pictured: Salt, Pepper, Garlic Powder

I started out by chopping up my vegetables and putting them in a bowl all mixed together

I took about half of the vegetable mixture and put them in the bottom of my crock pot after adding just a little bit of nonstick spray. After that I added the layer of chicken thighs (after cutting a little of the extra fat off).

20160303_122505
I added some salt, pepper, and a little garlic powder before adding the cheddar cheese soup and the cream of mushroom soup. I then mixed the soups a little and made sure they covered all the meat.

I added the last half of the vegetables and then half of the bag of shredded cheese.

Turn the heat on to low and let cook for 6+ hours. At the very end, add the remaining shredded cheese on top. At this point, the house just smells AMAZING!!!! I served it over some mashed potatoes and made some rolls to go with it.


Recipe
2 lbs chicken thighs (you can use chicken breasts or pork chops too)
1 red bell pepper, diced1 green bell pepper, diced
1 package of mushrooms, sliced (optional)
1 can cream of mushroom soup*
1 can cheddar cheese soup
1 package shredded cheese of choice (we did Colby Jack)
Salt, Pepper, and Garlic Powder, to taste

Dice up all of your vegetables and mix together. Layer 1/2 of the vegetables in the bottom of your crock pot. Layer your chicken on top of the vegetables (cut any extra fat off beforehand if necessary). Season the chicken with salt, pepper, and garlic powder. Add the cheddar cheese soup and the condensed mushroom soup. Mix slightly and ensure that all of the chicken is covered. Top with the remaining vegetables. Sprinkle 1/2 the bag of shredded cheese on top. Cook on low for 6-8 hours. About 10 minutes before you are ready to eat, add the last half of the shredded cheese (if you want to). Serve over mashed potatoes or rice.
*If using the entire package of mushrooms, you may want to add an additional can of one of the soups to help thicken it up a little, it was fine for my family, but some may want it thicker.

 

 

Leave a Reply

