Cookie Pizza!!!

My son, J has been having a tough time focusing in school recently. Part of his autism keeps his brain going a mile a minute pretty much all the time. The only time he can really focus on anything for more than a few minutes at a time is when he is building with his Lego sets. He has been working really hard on completing his work and staying focused this week. As a reward I promised him we’d make his favorite this weekend, a cookie pizza! We have only ever had the ones you can buy from pizza places, but I decided we could probably do better here at home. I found a recipe on Pinterest (http://www.gimmesomeoven.com/skillet-chocolate-chip-cookie/) and it looked super yummy! It’s made for a 9″ cast iron skillet, but I have a 12″ so I doubled the recipe about halfway prepping so the first couple of pictures will be before adding the additional ingredients to double the recipe.

I gathered everything together:20160312_143520I started by preheating my oven to 375 (increased the time from the original recipe since there was going to be so much more cookie to bake) and buttered my cast iron skillet.
20160312_143550I then went on to cream the butter with the sugars until it was nice and fluffy. I added the eggs and the vanilla extract.

In a separate bowl I combined the flour, baking soda, and salt together. I then added the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and mixed until combined.

Once combined I added the chocolate chips (in this case I did milk chocolate morsels and white chocolate morsels) and stirred until combined.
20160312_145916I then turned the cookie dough out into my prepared skillet and pressed evenly into place. I also added a few milk chocolate and white chocolate chips on top and pressed them in.

I placed the skillet into the preheated oven and baked for about 40 minutes until the cookie was golden brown and cooked through.
20160312_154158The cookie turned out great and it was a wonderful hit with J and the rest of the family. I was really happy he loved it so much! I hope your family loves it as much as mine did!!!

Recipe
2 sticks unsalted butter, plus more for the skillet
1 cup granulated sugar
1 cup packed light brown sugar
2 eggs (the recipe called for large, but I used medium eggs and they worked fine)
2 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
2 1/2 cups all purpose flour
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp kosher salt
1-2 cups chocolate chips (I used 1/2 milk chocolate and 1/2 white chocolate)

Preheat oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit. Combine the butter and the sugars in the bowl of a stand mixer on medium until fluffy. Add the eggs and the vanilla extract stirring until combined. In a separate bowl combine the flour, baking soda, and salt. Pour the dry ingredients into wet ingredients and combine on low. Add the chocolate chips and stir until just combined. Turn dough out into prepared cast iron skillet (or oven safe skillet) and press evenly into place. Add a spoonful of chocolate chips on top and press into the dough. Place skillet in oven and bake 30-40 minutes until golden brown and baked all the way through. Allow to cool a little before cutting.

Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

