Sausage Gravy (& Biscuits)

It’s been a little while since I’ve updated. Sorry about that! Last weekend I made yummy comfort food for us to have for breakfast. For my family, there is nothing better than homemade sausage gravy and biscuits when we are trying to have a relaxing weekend. Since the whole family woke up early I didn’t have time to make biscuits from scratch, but the canned biscuits work great, especially when you have a hungry family to take care of!

First, I gathered all of my ingredients.
20160305_075644The great thing about this recipe, (when using canned biscuits) is that there are only 5 ingredients: Canned biscuits, breakfast sausage (in this case hickory sausage, but I HIGHLY recommend maple sausage), milk, pepper, and all purpose flour. I turned on the oven and baked the biscuits based on the label directions.

Making the actual gravy is pretty quick and painless. I started by browning the sausage in my deep skillet.

Once browned I added the flour to the sausage and mixed until fully absorbed. I cooked for another roughly 3 minutes to ensure all of the flour taste had been cooked out. Once everything browned up it was also time to pull the biscuits out of the oven.

I added the milk to the sausage and stirred. I stirred occasionally until the mixture thickened and was nice and bubbly. Once thickened and bubbly I added the pepper and stirred until completely combined.

Once everything was ready to go I took two biscuits, split them in half, and laid them on a plate. I poured a couple of spoonfuls of sausage gravy on top and it was magical! 🙂

Recipe

1 can refrigerated biscuits (or homemade biscuits)
1 lb breakfast sausage of choice (I used hickory, but also LOVE maple)
3 cups milk
3 tbsp all purpose flour
1 tsp pepper (more/less to taste)

Preheat oven and bake biscuits per package instructions. Place sausage in a deep skillet and brown. Once cooked through and no longer pink, sprinkle the flour on to the sausage and mix until fully incorporated. Cook an additional 3-5 minutes to cook out the taste of the flour (by this point the biscuits should be done and you can pull them out of the oven). Add the milk and stir. Cook until mixture has become thick and bubbly, stirring occasionally. Add pepper and stir until well combined. Take 2 biscuits, split in half, place on a plate, and pour a few spoonfuls of the gravy on top.

Enjoy!

 

 

Leave a Reply

