Cheesecake!

So what do you when you have a hubby with pink eye taking a nap, a cranky 2 year old getting over an ear infection taking a nap, and a 7 year old happily building his Lego? You make CHEESECAKE! Cheesecake is probably my all time favorite dessert. Over the years I have learned to enjoy different variations (Cheesecake Factory is amazing with all of their choices!), but plain Jane cheesecake is still my favorite. It’s also comforting to me… When I was little, my Opa used to take us on long walks and at the midway point there was always a little restaurant that we would stop at and have a slice of cheesecake and coffee.. Well the adults had coffee and we had juice or milk or something like that. Those are some of my fondest memories of my time with my Opa. Hopefully you all enjoy the cheesecake as much as I do!

As always, I gathered all of my ingredients and preheated the oven to 325F before doing anything else.
20160416_135845

I put a sleeve of graham crackers into a gallon plastic bag, sealed it up, and used my rolling pin to crush into tiny crumbs. It’s a fun way to get some frustration out (haha). After crushing the crackers I poured them into a bowl.

I added 3 tablespoons of sugar and then added the 1/3 of a cup of melted butter. I mixed until will combined and then pressed into the bottom of my spring-form pan.

I set the pan aside and started working with my stand mixer. On a side note, my parents bought me my stand mixer years ago for Christmas and it has been by far one of my favorite presents ever! I get sooo much use out of it! Either way, I creamed together the room temperature cream cheese, 1 cup of sugar, and 1 tsp vanilla until well combined.

I then added the eggs one at a time. I stirred on low until just combined and then added the next egg until all 4 eggs were incorporated.

I poured the batter over the graham cracker crust, spread out evenly, and put it in the oven to bake. I set the timer for 55 minutes, but ended up having to add about 10 minutes to make sure it was cooked all the way through. Once I pulled it out of the oven I ran a clean knife around the edge to separate it.

I let the pan cool down before taking off the side. I think it turned out pretty good! 20160416_161004I put it in a container and popped it into the fridge for about 4 hours. I truly hope you enjoy the cheesecake as much as my family does! Please let me know what you think!

Recipe

4 – 8 oz packages of cream cheese, room temperature
1 1/2 cups graham cracker crumbs
1/3 cup melted butter
3 tbsp sugar
1 cup sugar
1 tsp vanilla
4 eggs

Preheat oven to 325 degrees Fahrenheit. Crush the graham crackers in a bag and crush with a rolling pin. Combine the graham cracker crumbs, 3 tbsp sugar, and melted butter. Once combined, press into the bottom of a spring-form pan. Set the pan aside. Place the cream cheese, 1 cup of sugar, and vanilla into the bowl of a stand mixer and cream together until well blended. Add 1 egg and stir on low, just until combined. Repeat until all 4 eggs have been incorporated. Pour the batter on top of the crust and spread evenly. Place the pan in the oven and bake for 55 minutes. At this point start checking to see if it is done. The cheesecake is done when it starts to brown slightly and it set all the way through. Remove pan from oven and run a clean knife around the edge to separate it from the pan. Once the pan cools, remove the outer edge of the pan and place in a container. Place the container in the fridge for 4 hours. Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Cheesecake!

Leave a Reply

