Turkey Schnitzel

Schnitzel is a super German meal. It makes me think of home and I love to make it. It also happens to be one of my husband’s favorite meals. I figure since he is not feeling well today I would make him something special. I normally make schnitzel with German Spätzle, but it goes really well with mashed potatoes too. That’s what I did today.

I gathered everything I would need to make our turkey schnitzel and then pounded out the turkey cutlets to make them nice and thin.

Next I took my slices of bread (crust removed) and I broke them up in batches and placed them in my blender (I would use my food processor which would make it much easier, but I have lost the blade). I pulsed until I made breadcrumbs. I placed the breadcrumbs in a pie dish and added Parmesan cheese, Herbs de Provence (normally I just use dried Thyme, but I didn’t realize I had run out), and fresh lemon zest. I mixed it all together until well incorporated.

In another pie dish I put the eggs, milk, and pepper and then mixed it up. There is also a 3rd pie dish with flour for dredging that you can see in the first picture.

Once all the pie dishes are prepped I took the turkey cutlets and added salt & pepper. I then dredged the cutlets in flour (shaking off the extra), dredged in the egg mixture, and then in the breadcrumbs. I place each cutlet on a plate until I had all of them all ready to go.

Next I took 2 tablespoons of butter and melted them over medium-high heat until nice and foamy. I then placed 1 cutlet into the skillet and kept it constantly moving until golden brown (2-4 minutes depending on how thin they are). I then flipped the cutlet over and again kept it moving until golden brown.

Once golden brown and cooked through, I placed the cutlet on a plate and squeezed some fresh lemon juice over it. I repeated this process with all 4 cutlets.

Once all the cutlets were done and I finished the mashed potatoes I plated everything and made sure to add at least 1 lemon wedge to each cutlet so everyone could add more lemon if they wanted to.
20160416_183819
Recipe

2-4 turkey cutlets, pounded thin
8 slices of white bread, crusts removed
1 lemon (zest and juice)
Flour for dredging
3 eggs
2 tbsp milk
1 tbsp Thyme or Herbs de Provence
1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese
Salt & Pepper to taste
4-8 tablespoons butter, divided (4 if using 2 cutlets, 8 if using 4)

Start by pounding each cutlet until nice and thin. Place flour in a shallow pie dish. Then take the 8 slices of bread and pulse in either a blender or a food processor until breadcrumbs. Place in a shallow pie dish and add Parmesan, Thyme, and lemon zest. Mix to combine. In another shallow pie dish combine the eggs, milk, and pepper. Stir until well combined. Line all three pie dishes in a row. Salt and pepper the cutlets to taste. One at a time take the cutlets and dredge in the flour (shake off extra), followed by the egg, and finally the breadcrumbs. Place each cutlet on a plate until ready to cook. Melt 2 tablespoons of butter in a skillet over medium high heat until foamy. Add 1 cutlet and keep it constantly moving around the skillet for approximately 2-4 minutes until golden brown. Flip it over and cook another 1-3 minutes until cooked through and golden brown. Place cooked cutlet on a dish and squeeze fresh lemon juice on it. Repeat this process with all the cutlets until they are all cooked. Prepare your favorite sides and enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

